Emergency Services Sector celebrates the best in Training

Organisations shortlisted for National Training Awards

The National Training Awards (NTA) today announced the organisations in the Emergency Services sector that have been shortlisted for the coveted 'Winner of the Year' awards. The winners will be announced at the National Training Awards Gala Ceremony which will be held in London on 10th December.

Organised on behalf of the Department for Business, Innovation and Skills (BIS) by UK Skills, The National Training Awards honour those who have made an outstanding contribution and commitment to training in the workplace. The 'Winner of the Year' awards have six categories: Large employer, Medium employer, Small employer, Providing Education and Training provider, Partnership and Collaboration and Individual.

The shortlisted companies are listed below and have been named as 'UK Training Award' winners in their category at regional ceremonies earlier in the year:

Fire and Rescue
•South Yorkshire Fire and Rescue, Sheffield, in partnership with CragRats Ltd.
Category: Partnership and Collaboration.

•Kent Fire & Rescue Service, Maidstone, Kent.
Category: Large employer.

•The Fire Service College, Moreton-in-Marsh, Gloucestershire.
Category: Providing Education and Training.

•Staffordshire Police, Staffordshire. Category: Large Employer

•Cumbria Constabulary, Penrith, Cumbria. Category: Large Employer

Simon Bartley, Chief Executive of UK Skills which manages the National Training Awards said: "The shortlisted organisations have demonstrated that training is an investment not a cost and that it can transform companies, careers, and communities. I congratulate them all on what they have achieved."

Skills Minister Kevin Brennan said: "It is more important than ever that we continue to support and invest in the training of our workforce, helping individuals develop their skills as well helping businesses stay competitive and prepare for the upturn. These companies demonstrate the diverse range of training taking place within the UK and the benefits it is delivering to organisations and employees."

The National Training Awards' premier sponsor is City & Guilds.

About The National Training Awards

•The National Training Awards (NTA) identify and celebrate organisations and individuals that have achieved really outstanding business and personal success through investment in training.

•Run on annual basis, The National Training Awards are free to enter and open in January. Entries close in April.

•The National Training Awards includes the following categories: Large Employer (250 +), Medium Employer (50-249+), SME (49 and under), Training Provider, Partnership and Collaboration and Individual.

•The 'Now is the Time' category was launched in 2009 to encourage employers who have invested in training during the recession, to share their experiences and get public recognition to their commitment to training and re-skilling.

•The National Training Awards are organised on behalf of the Department for Business, Skills and Innovation (BIS) by UK Skills. The National Training Awards support the training delivered by organisations working on the London 2012 Olympic and Paralympic Games.

•The National Training Awards support the Skills Pledge.

For more information visit:


Return to Training menu